PDA

View Full Version : First Time Long Time

The HIIT Man
08-29-18, 4:23 pm
Peace everyone! I've been lurking for years meaning to start a new log for some time, and I figured now would be as good of a time as any.

I have been lifting weights for 9 years, mostly spinning wheels doing bodybuilding routines with dumbbells and machines and afraid to increase poundages. I also fell for the whole marathon-runners-are-super-fit trap and forced myself to run (badly) a lot which didn't help. In 2015 I stumbled across 70sbig.com through my college strength training instructor and have since taken up Olympic lifting.

Biological stats:
Age: 36 (Started Olympic lifting at 24. Yes, over the hill, I know. Still fun.)
Height: 5'8"
Weight: 215 but still a bit soft. Would like to be a lean 207 or so.

2015: The initial LP
I had always done the barbell lifts, just not with anything heavy, so I started LP a bit higher than the average fella. My lifts, for 3 sets of 5, went from:
Back squat: 225 -> 345
Deadlift: 225 -> 355
Bench: 165 -> 237.5
Press: 65 (yea...) -> 155
Bodyweight from soft 198 -> less soft 215
I started with 16 dead hang pullups but degraded down to about 12 (maintained since) because I wasn't super diligent about them and the bodyweight increase didn't help. Would like to get to 20.

Late 2016 - 2017: Enter snatch, clean and jerk
I then got into Olympic lifting, something I had wanted to do for a while now, but due to a combination of a shitty body, lack of hard work, and shaky coaching, the strength stagnated, and due to shoulder injuries, actually regressed in the pressing movements.

My Oly 1RMs went up a bit though, from
Snatch: 60kg (ugly power snatch) -> 87kg
C&J: 80kg -> 107kg
Clean: 80kg -> 120kg
i.e. I wouldn't be worth anything even in the 48kg women's category....