PDA

View Full Version : Arm Wrestling... Lifting for victory.

Duke
01-18-07, 3:54 pm
Hello all,

I have a friendly Army Wrestling contest in May with a dude who looks to be strong.

I want to know if you guys have any specific weight lifting exercises that will strengthen the complex amount of muscles required for this activity. I have had some experience with AW in the past but not a competitive level. All I know is, I don’t want to damage my shoulder.

TIA,

EastonH
01-18-07, 4:15 pm
I dont know any exercises, except that you should armwrestle a lot everytime you have a chance you should be twistin some ones hand. Not every big guy is good at Armwrestling, its all about technique baby!

Barron
01-18-07, 4:28 pm
all my friends seem to think armwrestling is the best way to decide who's the strongest. HAHA... when it comes to lifting, im stronger than almost all of my friends, but i cant beat 1/2 of them at armwrestling because i have pretty short arms. Obviously strength is necessary, but in arm wrestling leverage is key. when someone else begins with an advantage like that, its tough to overcome and youll just have to dig down deep. when evenly matched, you gotta jump on top quick.

If you've ever seen the movie "Over the Top" with sylvester stalone, (i know its only a movie) but you can give his training method a shot, im not saying it works and ive never tried it. im not so sure that there is any exercises that are really AW specific... basically, stand w/ your back to a cable machine and pull the cable down as though you were actually arm wrestling. (kinda like you're throwing a baseball, pitchers at my school do this and they've won a couple championships so it must help them)

Not sure if that is much help, but its the first thing i thought of.

-Veritas-

RowdyRobby
01-18-07, 4:34 pm