PDA

View Full Version : Ask The Powerlifters...

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

brandonA
07-24-07, 6:16 pm
We are lucky enough to have some of the best Powerlifters in the world on the Forvm. A wealth of information and experience walking amongst us. My hope with this thread to open a question and answer session so that all of the great information can be shared by all..I am giving my thanks in advance to the powerlifters for there help.....

-B

brandonA
07-24-07, 6:18 pm
Hello all....

What advise would you give a beginner PL?

-B

Maccabee
07-25-07, 12:28 am
I am no expert powerlifter but being that this is my second week powerlifting I would have to say the most important thing to get done first is the form. With powerlifting everything is different. The form I had previously as a bodybuilder with deads, squats, and benching has all changed. So I think the most important thing is to get the form down nice and perfect. Bad form = Injury.

I learnt the form quickly regarding deads and squats because I have been lifting for a little while now so learning the form is pretty easy once you got some experience. But then again what I learnt with powerlifting is that even a small change in form, suits, etc... will change the outcome of your lift.

Big Dog
07-25-07, 12:53 am
Hello all....

What advise would you give a beginner PL?

-B
With my 25+ years in this sport, The 1st bit of advice would be ; ALWAYS KEEP AN OPEN MIND!!!! The moment you think you know everything, that's the time you need to go home and pick up a new hobby. I'm constantly learning new ways of doing things. whether its from a old dog who's been thru a few battles or a newbie who might have a fresh perspective on things.